Looks like the idea of daily updates went out the window with one of those teeny-tiny parachute that comes with a plastic army man. To be honest, being on a computer for 7.5 hours straight tired me out far too much to post every day. I even had to resort to my dad’s 4 alarm coffee (the 5 alarm stuff must be rocket fuel!) just to last the rest of the evening.

I’m proud to say I worked my ass off this week! The result of which has allowed me to find ‘the zone’ where I can produce a shed load of design variations in a few hours. I can see that being very useful in my third year 🙂

Project wise, I’ve been working on a rather broad range: Stationary for a fussy photographer, a sticker for solar panels made in China (talk about an ethical dilemma), illustrations for a range of industrial cleaning products, postcards for John Lewis of Hungerford (I’ll admit, that was mostly technical stuff), and another project I can’t go into detail on until they’ve signed it off.

As well as the practical stuff I was able to have a very long chat with one of the directors about the business side of things, which has settled my nerves a little about actually going into industry.

  1. You will never present in front of more than 4 people, and the more informal the better. Super formal meetings aren’t exactly productive.
  2. Time Sheets are ESSENTIAL for correctly pricing jobs, so keep on top of them!
  3. Most of the time you will be dealing with the same person/people throughout a project, so it is exceptionally unrealistic (not to mention impractical and unfair) for someone who has had nothing to do with a project to have the final say over a grade/payment/any other verdict.
  4. There are programmes available that are specifically designed to keep designers on top of all their projects, taking the stress out of deadlines.
  5. Unless you offer it as a service, it is NOT the designers job to proof read projects! It’s the client’s job to look for, and bring to light, any typos. Thing is, you have to be very clear that you’re not a human spell checker :p
  6. Unfortunately you do have to write an individual brief for every single job right at the start, otherwise the client will be able to be seriously fussy and change their mind every five minutes. If you have something in writing, which they have approved, you can bring it out every time they’re being awkward (or are trying to get something for free).
  7. you can charge £60 to add a wifi icon to an existing website 😀

I shall be uploading screenies of everything I’ve been working on, but you’ll have to wit a while for the confidential stuff ;P

Laters Xx

