Tags

,

I was under the impression that we would actually be able to get stuck int a project and do some worthwhile work, but so far, nada. I must apologize for the tone of this post, as I’m rather frustrated and unsatisfied with this current project.

Apparently, within the next eight weeks,we are going to produce a group print based project, a group web based project, and a personal project. All along side a 2500 -3000 word essay! I can’t help but feel that we’ve suddenly been thrown in at the deep-end with no sign of a lifeguard. This years project is experimental, so we’re the first group to be tested on, which means if it fails we’re the ones who’ll suffer. I’ll do my damnedest to organise everything, but I can’t see how I’ll be able to coordinate two separate groups around each other. I have two groups, each with four other members. Each of those group members has another group with another four people. I have a horrible feeling that the degrees of seperation law may kick in and each individual will have to organise the whole group in order to get any work done.

On a brighter note, we’ve got a proper client coming in tomorrow to brief us for this project. I worked with a client for my final major project in college, so I know how fussy and how much of a pain they can be. But I guess at the end of the day, they’re writing our paychecks, so I can’t really complain if what they want is the furthest thing from good design. I just won’t put my name on it :p

The whole project is about sustainability, reducing waist and the nasty bi-products that crop up along the manufacturing process. We were shown a few films on Monday, one of which explained how bad paper was for the environment. So now I feel bad about buying the thing we were taught to appreciate last year. Mixed signals much? So now, once I’ve used up all the nice virgin paper I have left, I’m only going to buy recycled paper! I shall start by restocking my depleted layout-paper stores by searching for an FSC approved pack 🙂

Another good piece of news, I finally have my bike up here! Which means I’ll be able to cut the hour walk down to twenty minutes cycling! I know, I’m a very slow walker…

Anyway, I have a lot of websites and CCS things to read. Which reminds me, must find a highlighter!

